SEPTEMBER 30, 2016
Jonathan Davenport Grabs Back-to-Back Tarheel 50 Victories at Tri-County Race Track
Jonathan Davenport of Blairsville, Ga. won his second Southern Nationals Bonus Series victory of the season on Friday Night at Tri-County Race Track during the 13th Annual Tarheel 50. Davenport and eventual runner-up Brandon Overton put on a driving clinic during several laps of the main event. (McLeod Media Services Photo)

Five caution flags slowed the 53-lap main event. The first yellow came out on the opening lap as Robby Moses slowed in turn four. The field was then re-aligned and sent off again for the start when a nine-car pileup on the backstretch again brought out the yellow flag for the second time. The third yellow flag would wave on lap six as front-runners Mike Marlar and Casey Roberts would both spin together in turn one. Marlar went pitside with damage and Roberts changed a tire and regained the field from the back. On lap nine, George Mashburn spun with a left front tire blown in turn four to bring out the fourth yellow while Daniel Wilson spun his entry on lap 48 in turn two to bring out the final caution of the race.

The next Southern Nationals Bonus Series event will be on Friday and Saturday October 7 and 8 at Crossville (Tenn.) Speedway paying $10,000-to-win for the Tennessee State Championship race.

Further information on the Spring Nationals, Southern Nationals and Southern Nationals Bonus Series can be obtained by calling Promoter Ray Cook at (828) 360-5353 or Series P.R. Coordinator Chris Tilley at (606) 219-1723 or visit the official website located at .

Official Summary of Results

Feature Results of “Tarheel 50” at Tri-County Race Track in Brasstown, NC on September 30, 2016:

1. Jonathan Davenport-Blairsville, Ga.
2. Brandon Overton-Evans, Ga.
3. Shanon Buckingham-Morristown, Tenn.
4. Kenny Collins-Colbert, Ga.
5. Jacob Grizzle-Blairsville, Ga.
6. Casey Roberts-Toccoa, Ga.
7. David Payne-Murphy, N.C.
8. Randy Nichols-Clayton, Ga.
9. Robby Moses-Maryville, Tenn.
10. Donald McIntosh-Dawsonville, Ga.
11. Michael Barnett-Hayesville, N.C.
12. Charlie Parker-Hayesville, N.C.
13. Doug Smith-Harriman, Tenn.
14. Joey Standridge-Tellico Plains, Tenn.
15. Daniel Wilson-Tiger, Ga.
16. Jamie Oliver-Murphy, N.C.
17. Craig Greer-Cleveland, Tenn.
18. Danny Ledford-Warne, N.C.
19. George Mashburn-Murphy, N.C.
20. Mike Marlar-Winfield, Tenn.
21. Bobby Panter-Morganton, Ga.
22. Brian Ligon-Augusta, Ga.

Last Chance Race Finish: Jamie Oliver, Robby Moses, Danny Ledford, George Mashburn, Charlie Parker, Randy Nichols, Daniel Wilson, Doug Smith, Michael Barnett, Joey Standridge, Craig Greer, Tim Rucker, Bobby Panter.

Yellow Flags: Five (laps 0, 0, 6, 9, 48)
Red Flags: None
Lap Leaders: Roberts (1-6), Davenport (12-53)
Entries: 24
FK Rod Ends Overall Fast Time: Jonathan Davenport-12.460 seconds
Keyser Manufacturing 11th Place Award: Michael Barnett
Highest Finishing CT525 Engine ($200): Charlie Parker
Highest Finishing Steel Head/SPEC Engine ($200): Joey Standridge
Provisional Starters: Craig Greer and Bobby Panter

Current Southern Nationals Bonus Series Points (after Sept. 30, 2016):
1. Donald McIntosh-1,538
2. David Payne-1,494
3. Ryan King-1,066
4. Doug Smith-1,059
5. Cory Hedgecock-944
6. Mike Marlar-738
7. Billy Ogle Jr.-652
8. Jonathan Davenport-592
9. Craig Greer-569
10. Shanon Buckingham-566



|| home :: news :: schedule :: results :: points :: rules :: payouts :: tarheel 50 :: track info :: lodging :: contact ||

Home News Schedule Results Points Rules Payouts Tarheel 50 Track Info Lodging Contact Delph Communications Website! Southern Nationals Series Website! Ray Cook #53 Website!